FANDOMS AND YOU!

What is the easiest way to piss off somebody on the internet? Simple:

Person 1 : I like this thing.

Person 2 : I don’t like this thing.

Person 1 : Why not?

Person 2 : Explanation.

Person 1 : SHUT UP! YOUR TROLL!

Why is it so easy to annoy fandoms, some people don’t like Harry Potter or Star Wars, some people really don’t give a shit about Doctor Who or My Little Pony. But if you DARE CRITICIZE WHY YOU DON’T LIKE IT – YOUR TROLL!

Notice how I brought up popular culture, it’s because fans of internet celebrities are really really pathetic, no matter WHO it is. Even if you’re one of my fans, you’re probably an idiot. Thanks for the Subscribes and Follows and what-not, but you can have your own opinions too. No need to be a part of a hive-mind, it’s the Mob Mentality that really ruins things for people.

The way a fandom works – you probably like something. Then you try and find a place where there are people with similar interests, and then you make it “your internet home”. That is until one of three scenarios play out:

A: The site dies, you forget to update, are the only one updating, and are the last person standing in this empty dark void you used to call a “Message Board”.

B: The site remains the same, but you “grew out of it” into something else, and find a new forum to get to.

C: The site grows huge, now you can’t find “your friends” anymore, because it’s a field of people quoting lines from the show, or showing off sickening fan-art or fan-fiction or role-playing that you just have to leave the site because you don’t want to be “associated” with those kinds of people, but it is too late…

You’re like a man caught in an endless desert, just trying to find salvation. This equates tothe internet, all you’re going to find is a mirage. It’s not wrong to “like” any fandom, it’s your hobby, it’s your decision of what to watch… it just grows into becoming this huge monster where fans get creepy with it, that you start second guessing why you liked it in the first place.

And that my friends, is why Final Fantasy VII : Advent Children is the worst movie I’ve ever seen.

27 thoughts on “FANDOMS AND YOU!

  1. Poor, poor Jordan. I know what will make you feel better: join the Bronana fandom today: http://www.facebook.com/groups/195041563924317/

  2. SirN says:

    This is how I basically feel about fandoms. Example for me, MGS4 is probably the most boring game I have ever played yet some fans considered it to be a perfect game in the whole series. Things like this kind of makes me question a lot about what I’m into.

  3. “Why is it so easy to annoy fandoms, some people don’t like Harry Potter or Star Wars, some people really don’t give a shit about Doctor Who or My Little Pony. But if you DARE CRITICIZE WHY YOU DON’T LIKE IT – YOUR TROLL!”

    Or Tim Tebow, for example. Substitute the word “Troll” with the word “Hater” and you have a small percentage of die hard Tebow fans online, ESPN, or anywhere else in a nutshell. It’s irritating, but it doesn’t affect how I feel Tebow (good person, inconsistent QB).

  4. Allrightyeah says:

    For Christ’s sake Jordan. You say this same shit every 3 months or so:)

  5. Tell me about it. I’m a huge Batman-Fanatic, yet I can’t stand being around other Batman-fans for the mere fact that Batman-fans tend to be the biggest, most ignorant idiots to walk this very planet*. It’s fans that make me feel sour about the things I love so deeply. I just can’t take it, really.

    * Batman- AND David Lynch-fans.

  6. I refuse to give out any handles I use elsewhere says:

    Person 1 : I like this thing.

    Person 2 : I don’t like this thing, so I’m staying out of this board.

    OR

    Person 1 : I like this thing.

    Person 2 : I don’t like this thing.

    Person 1 : Why not?

    Person 2 : *constructive criticism, without ad hominem attacks, forcing your opinion on Person 1 or unverified accusations, maintaining that you’re fine with the Person 1 liking it*

    Person 1 : Well, to each his/her own.

    • Jordan says:

      Give me a link to where this is a common occurrence.

      • I refuse to give out any handles I use elsewhere says:

        Let’s see, on the TGWTG forums…

        -I criticised the forced use of the Bat Credit Card in the “Next Top 11 F*ck-Ups” review.

        – I stated that I didn’t like the commercials episodes, because I felt absolutely no nostalgia for them, being Australian, and generally disliking commercials that don’t provide any sort of fetish fuel.

        – I admitted I liked American Beauty in response to Ask That Guy’s jab at it.

        – I stated that the jab at Zack Snyder being chosen to direct the upcoming Superman movie (from the Superman: TAS review) was a bit of a pre-emptive strike, seeing as it’s not due out for a year and a half.

        -Criticisms of Sin City and The Sixth Sense (two movies I hate that everyone else likes)

        I have had little to no response to them, and even if people did respond, they never labelled me a troll.

        Oh, and going onto a message board or forum of something you hate to criticize it – bad idea. Of course they’ll label you a troll, because you created an account for the sole purpose of saying “I don’t like X, even though I set up an account for its official message board/forum” People who do that need to get laid or go outside. I may not like Twilight or Glee, but I’m not about to upset the apple carts on their forums. Other people like it? Fine, whatever. I just won’t take part in it.

        • Jordan says:

          But yet you go to a forum, where the sole purpose is for “critics” to snarkly badmouth movies, comic books and video games?

          Don’t make me laugh.

          • Jordan says:

            Thanks for Disneycember! If you’re thinking of doing something similar next year, I’d like to see it. Perhaps a retrospective on the films of Stanley Kubrick? Or maybe Disneycember 2, where you look at the live action films or the ones with 3D animation (if it’s the latter, you HAVE to start with Tron)?

            • I refuse to give out any handles I use elsewhere says:

              I liked Disneycember. Eat me.

              At least they’re doing it for comedy. Even though the characters the reviewers play are snide and angry with everything, the real people are actually nice guys outside of their work, the kind of people I’d like to hang out with, and are less critical of things, making them likeable. You, on the other hand, seem like you are snide and angry all the time, and therefore seem like an overall unpleasant person to be around.

    • Ryoku75 says:

      One that I see too often still is:

      Person 1: This DLC\video game\movie\whatever dosen’t look so hot because of a few valid points and a high price.

      Person 2: If you don’t like it, don’t buy\watch it! OR Well to each their own, I just don’t feel like being insightful today.

      Truthfully I try to distance myself from fandoms mostly to avoid hype, I don’t want to end up blaring about some hidden superiority behind vintage Dodge K-Cars.

  7. […] This article done better and shorter. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  8. I refuse to give out any handles I use elsewhere says:

    Huh. Apparently, not being labelled a troll for making criticisms of TGWTG is analogous to not being labelled a Nazi for saying that the Jews should be executed.

    Oh wait, no it isn’t! I made my comments in a polite, constructive manner. I didn’t insult people who disagreed with me, nor did I voice my opinion as if it was the gospel truth. Maybe the reason nobody responded with “TROLL!” is because they had no reason to. As far as I can tell, there is absolutely no way to condone genocide WITHOUT sounding like a racist.

    Also, you get offended when people call you a troll, yet referring to someone who likes TGWTG as a dick-sucking fanboy is okay? Double standards, much?

    • Jordan says:

      if i left your comment alone, you would feel that you’ve “won”. your comment was the equivalent of schrodinger’s cat – it’s not good or bad reaction, it’s an unknown.

      you know why it’s unknown? because i doubt people give a shit about your opinion on “the critic”, and rather just go “great video” like always.

      But i appreciate your messages, Ned. Thanks for stopping by! Now go scream at an empty void and pretend people are listening.

      • I refuse to give out any handles I use elsewhere says:

        So that’s it, is it? The main reason you speak out against stuff that other people enjoy and have genuine love for is to get attention? What a poor sad life you’ve got.

        My first message was a counter to your thing. If you didn’t get it, the best way to state an opinion that goes against general consensus and avoid being labelled a troll is not to insult the fans (by the way, Spoony admitted he was doing that in his FF reviews to distinguish real him from camera him, I have proof), avoid making wild accusations without proof (at least I don’t accuse the people behind Glee of hoarding donation money), accept that other people have opinions different from yours, and above all, NO AD HOMINEM ATTACKS. I don’t mind if people dislike TGWTG. There is no right or wrong opinion, just a right or wrong way to voice that opinion. And you sir, chose the wrong way.

        Consider this my final message. What doesn’t get you off will kill you.

        • anonymous4488 says:

          “So that’s it, is it? The main reason you speak out against stuff that other people enjoy and have genuine love for is to get attention? What a poor sad life you’ve got.”

          Meanwhile, irony.

        • Allrightyeah says:

          You know what, I think this whole back and forth could be a work:)

        • “accept that other people have opinions different from yours”

          Judging from your previous posts, I’d say you’ve done a pretty good job of that. About as well as Skip Bayless accepted Brady Quinn taking throws in practice before the Broncos won against the Steelers. Well done.

          • Auroraheaven says:

            I hate Football fans and fandom but I respect your opinon to use it as a example of…..something and won’t bitch you out for it. :)

  9. Allrightyeah says:

    Lol, looks like this place is finally going back to normal:)

  10. Ryoku75 says:

    This is how things go on GameFAQs whenever I insult the Delorean or Bugatti Veyron, I’m a troll because I appreciate cars that can corner.

  11. Auroraheaven says:

    I remembered the first fandom I ever hated……and that was James Bond. I HATE THE JAMES BOND MOVIES!

Your Thoughts?

